A race so tough, requires a heavy toll

The Paris-Dakar race is not a feat of destruction», replied on 1986 Thierry Sabine who reminded him of the sad human toll paid to Dakar. A strip inaugurated by Patrice Dodin, fell off his Yamaha in the first edition: the French were going at the start of the fourth leg with the helmet fastened, When it fell and knocked on a stone the head uncovered.

Sabine himself died on 14 January 1986 along with other 4 people not far from Timbuktu (Mali) during a sandstorm: their helicopter crashed into a dune 30 meters. The next day, during the briefing for pilots, Race Director Patrick Verdoy reassured those who feared that the race would stop: "The continuation of the rally will be like Thierry would've wanted, Sports safety and rigour will be insured».

But it was not enough to prevent other tragedies, starting from Giampaolo Marinoni, fell in the final stage of that Edition: the tester of Cagiva came up in the saddle for the last 40 km and hewed the finish before crumble to the ground. Died 2 days later of liver lesions. Similar fate, 19 years later, would be touched to Fabrizio Meoni, winner of the editions 2001 and 2002.

With the abandonment of Africa the streak of blood (23 pilots dead outnumber other deaths among inhabitants, spectators, journalists and mechanics) seemed destined to break. Instead, in South America the tragedies there have been. Already 5 the pilots dead in motion, starting from Pascal Terry: in 2009 He had pulmonary edema in the pampas and found body after three days.

This is the list of riders disappeared in various editions of Dakar Africa to which must be added the deceased between the crews and support staff, organizers, inhabitants, spectators, journalists and victims of traffic accidents caused by competitors.

  • 1979
  • 1982
  • 1983
  • 1986
  • 1986
  • 1988
  • 1992
  • 1994
  • 1996
  • 2005
  • 2005
  • 2006
  • 2007
  • 2007
  • Patrice Dodin (FRA)
  • Bert Oosterhuis (OLA)
  • Jean Noel Pineau ( FRA)
  • Giampaolo Marinoni (ITA)
  • Jean-Claude Huger (FRA)
  • Kees van Zijr Loeve (OLA)
  • Gilles Lalay (FRA)
  • Michel Sansen (BEL)
  • Jean-Pierre Leduc (FRA)
  • José Manuel Pérez (SPA)
  • Fabrizio Meoni (ITA)
  • Andy Caldecott (AUS)
  • Elmer Symons (S.AFR)
  • Eric Aubijoux (FRA)
  • Nigeria
  • Algeria
  • High Voilta
  • Senegal
  • MALI
  • Nigeria
  • Congo
  • Mauritania
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Senegal